Discover Downtown / Faces + Places

Meet Kerri!

Hi! My name is Kerri DeVries and I am a senior Media Arts and Design major and Studio Art minor at James Madison University. I have held two prior internships, one as a social media intern in Virginia and one as a marketing intern in Maryland. I am excited to be the Visual & Social Media Intern for Harrisonburg Downtown Renaissance this spring.

I spent a month this past summer in Urbino, Italy with a group of students from JMU and other universities from around the United States and Canada. We learned about video editing and production, photography, feature writing, how to use a language translator, and how to effectively combine all of these elements to create a great story.

I wanted to be an HDR intern because of my love for downtown Harrisonburg. This area has so much to offer and is adding more events and new businesses and restaurants each year.  I especially hope to help university students and Harrisonburg residents learn about the downtown area so that they can take advantage of it even more.

I plan to dedicate my Friday column to giving students and residents insight into all of the exciting opportunities in downtown Harrisonburg! Through multimedia posts over the next four months, I will use my column to feature businesses, restaurants, and events taking place downtown. I hope that this will give the community a better idea of what is happening each week to get them out and active in the Harrisonburg community!

Leave a Reply

