Faces + Places

A hidden gem of downtown: Arepera Las Chamas

Arepera Las Chamas. Photo: Harrisonburg Downtown Renaissance archives.

Recently, I was in charge of planning a downtown lunch for myself and 10 other JMU students.  With over 25 restaurants located in downtown Harrisonburg, there were plenty of options for me to choose from.  I was looking for a unique downtown eatery that may not be as prominent to JMU students as other downtown hotspots.  Arepera Las Chamas was exactly that.

This hidden gem immediately enticed my group with the delicious smells of South American food.  I was very impressed by the friendly service, clean facilities, and the authentic menu.  Las Chamas’s extensive food options provided everyone in the group with a meal that matched their preference.  I ordered a delicious corn wrap filled with beef, egg, yellow plantains, and other veggies,  topped off with a special zesty sauce.  The menu items are written in Spanish, but the descriptions are in English.  This did not faze my group at all, as they embraced the originality of these interesting choices by all ordering a different item.  You do not have to be an adventurous eater in order to visit Las Chamas; they offer salads and wraps and other familiar meals in addition to their Caribbean and Venezuelan specialities.

My hearty corn wrap  satisfied both my stomach and my wallet; my meal filled me up while costing me less than $10!  At the end of the meal, I received many thanks from my group for introducing them to an exciting and new downtown restaurant.  Everyone was as impressed as I was by Las Chamas’s atmosphere, service, and food.

If you are a downtown restaurant enthusiast looking to expand your dietary repertoire, I strongly suggest you make Las Chamas your next stop!

Arepera Las Chamas is located at 50 South Mason Street in downtown Harrisonburg. More information is available here.

Conor Kiely was the Organizational Management Intern in the fall of 2011. He is a senior Psychology major at James Madison University.

One thought on “A hidden gem of downtown: Arepera Las Chamas

  1. Pingback: Corner of Mason Street and Market Street Harrisonburg Photo « RockGusta

Leave a Reply

