Uncategorized

Meet Mariel!

Hi everyone!

My name is Mariel Ward and I am Harrisonburg Downtown Renaissance’s new special events intern. I am a senior at James Madison University, majoring in Communication studies with a minor in Business Italian. I will be graduating this upcoming May, which is very bittersweet. However, I believe this internship will be the perfect ending to my undergraduate years at JMU. I couldn’t be more excited to have this amazing opportunity of interning for HDR this spring semester!

I have always had a passion for events and I truly enjoy the planning process and everything that goes into it.  I love working with all different types of people and helping to create a successful event gives me great personal satisfaction.  Previously, I have worked as a special events intern for a venue in New York City.  As an intern, I promoted the company utilizing marketing and public relation aspects.  I managed the website and used social media as an asset to promote the venue for special events.  I hold a strong passion for creating and managing successful events, while promoting a positive image for organizations and companies. I am looking forward to applying my past experiences and knowledge to this internship.

Throughout my years at JMU, I have always been very passionate about our downtown community and believe it has so much potential to grow.  I have always enjoyed hanging out downtown with my friends and love broadening my horizons by taking advantage of some of the events downtown as often as I can. I would love to make people more aware of the liveliness and uniqueness downtown has to offer. I am eager to help promote the downtown district and facilitate the growth of our culture-rich downtown district.

As the special events intern, this spring, I will be working to help organize and promote some of the great events hosted downtown, such as the Court& Market Days, which is a lively festival that commemorates the 150th anniversary of the Stonewall Jackson’s 1862 Valley Campaign, and is the ultimate way to celebrate the rich cultural heritage of the historic downtown.  There are many more exciting downtown events coming up this year, and I am thrilled to be a part of them!

Leave a Reply

