Faces + Places

Meet Lindsay!

picOne day while walking downtown and looking at the many historic buildings, I began thinking about whether downtown had anything new to offer students. While getting lost on the one-way streets, I started to look into shop windows and became excited by what I discovered—cute clothes, delicious food, and cool hangouts. I wondered if there was any other way for me to learn more about downtown Harrisonburg and that led me to Harrisonburg Downtown Renaissance.

My name is Lindsay Vormack and I am a contributing writer for the Do Downtown blog this semester. I am a senior at James Madison University double majoring in Media Arts & Design and Writing, Rhetoric, & Technical Communication with plans to graduate this December.

With my time at JMU and in the Harrisonburg community coming to a close, I am excited to contribute to this blog and share my experiences in downtown with current and future students and community members.

During my first years at JMU, I found downtown to be overwhelming with all that it has to offer. Now that I have gotten to know downtown, a few of my favorite things are dining at the local restaurants, shopping, and painting pottery at You Made It!

As a writer for the Do Downtown blog, I hope to introduce you to new parts of downtown Harrisonburg so that you too can become familiar with the many things it has to offer. I love talking with people and getting to know them, so I also look forward to introducing you to a few prominent and awesome figures in the Harrisonburg community.

Lindsay Vormack is an HDR Writing Intern for Fall 2013 and a senior Media Arts & Design and Writing, Rhetoric, & Technical Communication double major at James Madison University.

Leave a Reply

